American luxuries

That song lyric that says, “you never know what you got till it’s gone” has never been a more accurate representation of my life until I moved to Spain.  Big picture: my Spanish life is perfect and I’m probably the happiest I’ve ever been, but there are some American luxuries I miss on a daily basis.

1.) Family and Friends.

DUH.  But thanks to technology, it’s still pretty easy to connect and keep in touch.  As long as they don’t mind being woken up at 5:00am because you forgot about the 7 hour time difference.

2.) Dryer.

Have you ever dried your body with a piece of sandpaper? I have, and my skin has never been so exfoliated in my entire life.  No amount of fabric softener has left me with a warm, fluffy towel.

Have you ever made a laundry schedule to allow enough time for your jeans to air dry? I have, and my research shows that it takes approximately 3 days for a pair of jeans to dry.  And then I feel like a stick figure when I put on my starchy, stiff pants.  Actually quite similar to Ana in Frozen when her dress freezes.

Frozen-Anna-cold

3.) Someone bagging my groceries.

Have you ever tried to hand the cashier your card, get your change, and bag your groceries all at the same time while there’s a Spanish grandma behind you trying to shove your stuff out of the way? I have, and I almost break into tears every time because, “I’M DOING THE BEST I CAN”.  I actually might have missed some Spanish seminar for Spaniards on how to pack grocery bags in record time without breaking your eggs.  I’ll be googling that after this post is finished.

4.) Peanut Butter.

Have you ever paid 7€ for a bag of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups from an American store that caters to rich tourists? I have, I also have zero regrets.  FYI: I’m currently saving up for my another bag to last me the next couple months.  Furthermore, the majority of my students think it’s disgusting and are appalled that I ate a pb&j everyday for 18 years during school.

5.) Cereal.

Have you ever bought Special K cereal and then sprinkled sugar on top because the store doesn’t sell Frosted Flakes? I have and although it’s probably quite unhealthy, it does do the trick.  Just close your eyes and say, “They’re grrrreat”

 

Fellow expats, what do you miss most from America? Is it the cherry pie, big cars, or dishwasher?

Look out for my next article on things Spain is doing right.

 

2 thoughts on “American luxuries

  1. GRANDPA says:

    Dear Gabrielle, What a great way to start the day! The Pope smiling at us from the refrigerator door! It may seem somewhat irreverent, but it is the big traffick area of the house, and his smile makes us happy. Could we begin a crusade with the Pope on every fridge door? A simple solution to world peace???!!!! We love you, happy semester,ENJOY!!! Grandma & Grandpa

    Like

Leave a Reply

