Mallorca: a comedy

This past weekend I went to Mallorca.  One of the Spanish Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean sea.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. My life, or at least my travels, could be the inspiration for a comedy tv show, where my character will be played by Sofia Vergara. This weekend just reassured me the show would be a hit!  Here would be some of the sketches of the show.

Plane ride.
I understand the consequences of using budget airlines with delays and baggage sizes but I struggle to understand the audience. Everyone, whether you use budget airlines or more luxury airlines should have a certain knowledge of airplane etiquette. I got on board and then a group of 13-14 year olds got on with their coach/teacher. It was a 8:00am flight and I hoped to get a little nap-haha so hopeful. The kids were split up in front and behind me. And much to my surprise one of them brought a ping pong ball and decided to bounce it on the tray table for the entire 1 hour flight. You would think their supervisor would have said something. Deep Spanish sigh and American eye roll.

Weather.
I booked this trip to Mallorca for 2 reasons. 1. I wanted to go to the Balearic Islands. 2. I wanted to get some sun and enjoy the warm weather. Closer and closer to the trip the forecast got worse and worse. Comical to the point that Friday and Saturday were the only days in the forecast with rain. The islands get sunny weather 363 days a year. How was it possible that both days I was traveling it would be rainy?? In the end Friday was constant rain. I actually haven’t seen so much rain in Spain. It was a constant downpour for the entire day, from 10:00am when I arrived until I went to bed at 11:30pmSaturday I woke up to sunny skies  and spent the whole day at the beach.

Ensaimada.
My teacher friends told me I had to try this traditional pastry from Mallorca. I was excited because it didn’t have almonds! I barely eat any baked deserts from Spain because everything has almonds in it and I’m allergic.  So I went to the specific bakery they recommended and asked for this pastry with cream. The baker replied, “no cream today”. Then I asked for my second choice whipped cream. Same response, “no whipped cream”. I did an exaggerated Spanish sigh and settled for a plain pastry. Dude, take some milk and whip me up some cream!! It’s not that hard. Mama Ana did it for me last week when I wanted strawberries with whipped cream. 🙂

IMG_3867

Umbrella.
So there’s not a whole lot to do in the rain, but shop to escape the terrible weather. I walked into Zara and placed my umbrella by the door next to the pile of other wet umbrellas. One purchase later I return to the door to grab my umbrella. Not there. I go to the other door to double check.  Nope. Still not there. I was livid. Therefore in the umbrella karma world, I stole someone else’s umbrella. My deep apologies to the owner of a small pink travel umbrella. But there’s no way I was going to leave that store without an umbrella.

Just a snapshot of a weekend in my life. Needless to say I’m always laughing

Here are some sunny pics from Saturday.

Leave a Reply

